Skip to content

Commuter’s Bane

September 8, 2009

Yesterday I went to my visiting mother, who the next day will take another flight to Hong Kong. So nice being a mother with a day-off for once, noh? Hahah. Well, we were supposed to go for some bonding activities (*coughKimidoracough*) when my groupmate in a major called up and told me that we’re lagging on our projects. Must we three be present for a map to be finished at least when we need it?

Anyway, I needed to go back to campus despite my head’s attempts to kill myconsciousness (I was still very sleepy) and the pull to just stay with my mom. So I found myself launching into the unknown of Las Pinas and found a bus going to Baclaran. It was a semi-long ride, with a very gory war movie being played and the aircon of the passengers in front of me directed to me (I had mine already closed because it was so cold). After a jeepney-MRT-jeepney ride later, I found myself in the comfort of my boarding house. Tip for the commuters: Don’t commute alone. Especially if you’ve got a 7kg plastic bag in tow.

The worse has yet to begin. The latches on my bike’s basket is starting to rust and it was kind of moving dangerously around when I used it to go to my groupmates. The reason it was not down for the count yet was because of the extra holds placed on it a while back. Ah well.

So far, the day’s been fine. There are a lot of report of floods around the Metro now, one near us, the Quezon City Memorial Circle (our reaction was “WTF we thought there was proper drainage at that area!”) and some of the road holes I passed has some water reserves. Well, the monsoon’s still alive and kicking, and the typhoon, despite being outside the Philippine Area of Responsibility by now, is still feeding the monsoon rain feed. Well, cold months here we go.

Ciao.

No comments yet

Leave a comment